Skip to content

About Me

Professional

I am a motherscholar: a Ph.D. candidate in the College of Education and Human Services and an instructional designer in the Feliciano School of Business at Montclair State University. As of the writing of this biography, I have had seventeen years in the academy as an undergraduate student and graduate student (x 3!) and in a variety of alternative academic careers in multiple colleges and universities: faculty developer and educator, instructional designer, technical trainer, and instructional technologist.

Ph.D. Candidate, Teacher Education and Teacher Development, Montclair State University
M.S., Instructional Design, Quinnipiac University
M.A., Theatre Production and Stage Management, Montclair State University
B.A., Independent Major in Theatre Performance, Quinnipiac University

Member, The MotherScholar Project
Member, American Educational Research Association
Member, National Women’s Studies Association
Member, International Association of Autoethnography and Narrative Inquiry
Member, International Association of Maternal Action and Scholarship

Personal

I am a lifelong learner, which can probably be surmised by the degrees I have pursued. I style myself as a polymath, with a wide range of intellectual interests and a very large library of over 1000 books and resources in many different subjects. One of my life goals is to have a residence large enough to accommodate a physical library so it can be taken out of storage.

I love taking classes and I love teaching. My favorite moment is when I see the lightbulb figuratively appear above the head of the person I am teaching.

I live with my husband, Michael, and my son Daniel, in New Jersey.

I am also a cancer mom. My son Daniel was diagnosed in June 2021 with a rare brain tumor, ATRT, at the age of nineteen months. During the later portion of his first treatment protocol, he had a reoccurrence of cancer in June of 2022. He was also diagnosed with a disease called myelodysplastic syndrome, known colloquially as pre-leukemia, as a result of his treatments. We are working to balance fighting both his brain cancer and keeping his MDS in check.

When not working, completing my coursework and dissertation, and taking care of my son, I am a freelance theatre professional (stage manager, dresser, actor, etc.) for multiple community theatres and artistic institutions in the area. I also sing in local choirs.